I have not read any Jane Austin books but I did watched a lot of film adaptations of her novels. I am usually not into Chick Flicks but when one catches my interest it usually is a good comedy or set in the 19th century. Here are some of the films that are based off of Jane Austin books that I have enjoyed a lot.

 

  1. Clueless 1995

This is one of my favorite films. I grew up watching this film. This is a Modern adaptation of the book Emma. It stars the wonderful Paul Rudd and Alicia Silverstone.

2. Emma 1996

As you can see I absolutely love the Emma story line. This is another one of my favorite adaptations. This one stars Gwyneth Paltrow and Jeremy Northam.

3. Persuasion 1995

The only reason I watched this movie was because I had a weird obsession with Ciaran Hinds at the time. He is such a great actor. A lot of people will probably know him best as Mance Ryder from Game of Thrones. This story is one of my favorites which brings us to the next movie of the same title and story.

4. Persuasion 2007

I loved comparing this movie with the 1995 version. Each version had their differences. I thought this version did best in some areas of the story while the other did best in other areas. I think this adaptation is equally as good as the 1995 version.

5. Mansfield Park 1999

I love the comedy in this one and the cast.  I enjoy watching this one over and over. This one stars Frances O’Connor and Jonny Lee Miller.

6. Sense and Sensibility 1995

I like this version of Sense and Sensibility the best because Alan Rickman is amazing in this movie. This was the first movie I saw Alan Rickman play a good guy and it made me love him more. RIP Rickman.

7. Bridget Jone’s Diary 2001

What I like about this modern Adaptation of Pride and Prejudice is that they got Colin Firth to play Mr. Darcy again. Colin Firth played Mr. Darcy in the popular 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice and got famous for the role. This is an all time favorite of mine, up there with Clueless.

8. Pride and Prejudice 2005

This Adaptation stars Keira Knightley and Matthew Macfadyen. I had to put this version on here just because Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr. Darcy is so irresistible. The line, “You have Bewitched me,” just made me love the character. He is an actor that doesn’t get the credit he deserves. Keira Knightley was okay not my favorite Elizabeth.

9. Pride and Prejudice 1995

I can’t forget the 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice. Colin Firth’s famous lake scene!

10. Northanger Abbey 2007

This adaptation of Northanger Abbey stars J.J. Fields and Felicity Jones. I actually watched this one because I always loved J.J. Field. I wish he was in more movies I liked.

